Ryzom riddle
Tuesday, June 17th, 2008 by HeklaYesterday, ryzom.com’s DNS was pointed to different locations, the old subdomains were taken down and the MX (mail) server was set to Google Apps. I have no idea what exactly this may mean, but today, a picture was put in ryzom.com’s front page, notifying us of the imminent return of Ryzom (see here).
We have no idea as yet who is behind this; purchasing an available domain is easy enough, so this may just be a hoax, or a sign that the fellows behind Atyscape are getting serious in their efforts to retro-engineer server behavior from the old Ryzom client… But their intention was to revive it as Ryturn, because of copyright issues. So this wouldn’t seem consistent since, presumably, only Spiderweb would be authorized to use the name Ryzom, unless the company waived their rights.
But perhaps something is happening after all, so it’s worth a mention. Apologies in advance if this all turns out to be a false hope.

June 19th, 2008 at 1:39 am
hopefully this is wickedly good news, though way to early to declare victory.
Miss you all
~Utai
June 19th, 2008 at 4:10 am
ooOOOoOooOoOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
*gives a little bounce of joy!*
pleasepleasepleasepleaseplease!!!
June 19th, 2008 at 5:37 am
Hard to tell really. The page has two different statistics engines; its sole purpose might be to get a feel for how much interest we still have for Ryzom.
June 19th, 2008 at 12:37 pm
*bounces with Marile and starts sharpening her pick*
June 19th, 2008 at 1:34 pm
It would seem as though parts of the server are being set up. The Nevrax DNS was updated to point the Ryzom client to a new IP address. I’m still very cautiously waiting for these deeds to be signed and authenticated.
June 21st, 2008 at 5:36 am
Thanks for the update. I am a bit skeptical that an owner with resources would use this method to announce that the game will be coming back. Hopefully we will get some sort of announcement “soon”.
June 21st, 2008 at 7:45 am
Yes, what we’re seeing definitely builds traffic on the domain, increasing its sell value.
Incidentally, someone just inquired as to the price for ryzom.fr and was told the domain would be available for 1.000 €. The simple fact that ryzom.fr was purchased by a speculator a while back, as it fell back to the public domain, goes to show how much Spiderweb values Ryzom.
For all we know, Spiderweb may also have sold ryzom.com (or let it expire), and it’s possible the current owners are creating hype around it just to increase traffic and make it a better sale… It would be a cruel joke played on us homins, but it wouldn’t be the first time a domain falls prey to speculation.
And hello Master Pero. Hope all is well with you
June 23rd, 2008 at 2:23 pm
I hate to be too hopeful with everything thats been going on but it does seem like a lot of work to be a joke or just raise the worth of a few letters w/ .com after them.
June 23rd, 2008 at 2:27 pm
Hello Erisapple
Yes, and there is also a hopeful sign in that Klients actually recognized my login and password, which probably means the data used isn’t that old, or pirated.
Still, I’d love to have a signature somewhere…